Five Stages of Grief: Golden Retriever Edition

Tuesday, June 22nd 2021


Golden Retriever Shocked by a Kitten occupying his bed! [2:20]:


When I sent this video to my (13 y/o) son, he wrote:

he went through the 5 stages of grief! denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and finally acceptance! so funny mom.


OK so first of all, the Boy is spot on, as usual.

Secondly, SO spot on!

I mean, I distinctly remember learning about Elisabeth Kubler-Ross while earning my undergraduate degree in psychology. Her groundbreaking 1969 book, “On Death and Dying” is where the “Five Stages” originate.

But that my 13 y/o has implicitly learned and understands these as a matter of course, as a matter of viewing content online and understanding behavior in the world…

Well I just never would have anticipated that.

That is because I am Gen-X(L), I was born before the internet and am helping to raise the next generation who are absolutely immersed and infused with all it has to offer; the good bad and ugly.

So…anyone want to just watch that doggo video again?


About circuskitchen

performing artist, mom, wife, daughter, sister, aunt, niece... just a regular extraordinary person
This entry was posted in animals, cats, childhood, comedy, evidence they get along, fight, fighting Fascism, forgiveness, Friendship, learning, love, mental health, nature, parenthood, parenting, patience, siblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s